PHOENIX (3TV/CBS 5) - In a historic vote to impeach President Donald Trump for a second time, Arizona representatives in the House stayed with party lines.

All five of Democratic representatives for Arizona voted to impeach. They are Rep. Ruben Gallego, Rep. Tom O'Halleran, Rep. Raúl Grijalva, Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick and Rep. Greg Stanton. They joined all of the other Democrats in the lower chamber of Congress to impeach. The final vote was 232 for impeachment and 197 against. Five members of the House did not vote.

President Donald Trump was impeached by the U.S. House for a historic second time Wednesday, charged with “incitement of insurrection” over the deadly mob siege of the Capitol in a swift and stunning collapse of his final days in office.

"Donald Trump is not just incompetent. He's not just corrupt. He's downright dangerous and should never be allowed to hold public office again. I'm voting today to impeach," Gallego said in a tweet.

All four Arizona GOP representatives voted against impeachment. They are Rep. Paul Gosar, Rep. Andy Biggs, Rep. Debbie Lesko and Rep. David Schweikert.

"What is the point? This move sets a dangerous precedent for our nation. If Congress is going to impeach a president, it must only be done after intense debate and deliberations not rushed through in the 11th hour to make a political point," Lesko said on the House floor.

Valley political expert Joe Wolf says there's definitely cause for impeachment.

"Making sure he's facing a consequence, he's being held to account for his actions, and then frankly, provided they get the votes in the Senate, barring him from ever holding office again is a just punishment," he said.

US Capitol

File photo of the Capitol in Washington, Monday, Jan. 11, 2021.

Phoenix political consultant Stan Barnes says the impeachment may actually turn Trump into a martyr in the eyes of his followers.

“This may end up not destroying Donald Trump’s political influence within the Republican Party," he said.

However, Barnes predicts Trump, who once had enough influence to essentially hand-pick Republican congressional candidates, will lose endorsement power.

"After the impeachment and the riots, I don’t think that’s true anymore," he said. "Now the field is a lot more open.”

A total of 10 Republicans in the House voted for impeachment. They are

  • John Katko (NY)
  • Liz Cheney (WY)
  • Adam Kinzinger (IL)
  • Fred Upton (MI)
  • Jaime Herrera Beutler (WA)
  • Dan Newhouse (WA)
  • Peter Meijer (MI)
  • Tom Rice (SC)
  • Anthony Gonzalez (OH)
  • David Valadao (CA)

Copyright 2021 KPHO/KTVK (KPHO Broadcasting Corporation). All rights reserved.


Recommended for you