Navajo Nation

The restrictions are changing for the Navajo Nation this weekend.

NAVAJO NATION (3TV/CBS 5) – With a decrease of COVID-19 cases on the Navajo Nation and in neighboring states, the tribal government changed a full weekend lockdown to a 32-hour partial weekend lockdown.

The new lockdown will be in place from Saturday at 9 p.m. to Monday at 5 a.m. over the next four weekends. This also changes the daily evening curfew from 9 p.m. to 5 a.m.

COVID-19 research project on the Navajo Nation

The changes to the lockdown happened as Arizona and other states have seen a downward trajectory in new COVID-19 cases. For the Navajo Nation, the number of new cases has dropped lower than 10%, and hospitalization has stayed near 80%.

There is a new way of teaching on the Navajo Nation amid COVID-19

“We’ve gone 42 consecutive days with less than 100 positive COVID-19 cases being reported daily,” President Jonathan Nez said. “Until there is a safe vaccine in place, we will continue to face this modern-day monster. The 32-hour weekend lockdown presents an opportunity for everyone to prepare for the upcoming winter season by gathering firewood, water, food and other necessities that will be needed.”

At the same time, there will be a no-contact food distribution event on Saturday, Aug. 8 at various locations.

When someone comes to get food, they will stay in their vehicle with the windows rolled up.

Here are the following locations and times:

  • 10 a.m. MDT/9 a.m. PDT at Winslow Indian Health Care Center
  • 3 p.m. MDT/2 p.m. PDT at Leupp Chapter
  • 5 p.m. MDT/4 p.m. PDT at Dilkon Chapter
 

Copyright 2020 KPHO/KTVK (KPHO Broadcasting Corporation). All rights reserved.

Recommended for you