CHANDLER (3TV/CBS 5) -- It is illegal in Arizona to talk or text on a cellphone while driving unless the device is in a hands-free mode.
The law has been in effect since April 2019, however, drivers continue to ignore the hands-free law.
Stanley Roberts rode along with Jeremy Logan of the Chandler Police Department's traffic division as he pulled over drivers in violation of the state hands-free law. The drivers stopped were not issued tickets because there is a grace period for citations until 2021.
One person was caught driving with expired registration. In Arizona there is no grace period if your vehicle registration has expired, and the fine can range from $180 up to just over $600.