ELECTION DAY Phoenix Mayor Runoff Gallego Valenzuela

PHOENIX (AP) -- It appears the Phoenix mayoral race will be decided by a runoff election early next year.

[PHOTOS: List of Election Day winners,loser in Arizona]

Unofficial results Tuesday night showed Kate Gallego and Daniel Valenzuela as the top vote-getters, but neither had at least 50 percent plus one vote to win.

Gallego was at 45 percent and Valenzuela at 26 percent.

The other candidates who ran were Moses Sanchez and Nicholas Sarwark.

A runoff if needed has been scheduled for March 12.

[RELATED: Phoenix mayoral race likely to experience a runoff election]

The special election was held to replace Greg Stanton, who left office in May to run for U.S. Congress. He was elected Tuesday night.

[LIST: Congressional winners in Arizona]

Phoenix councilwoman Thelda Williams has been serving as temporary mayor and will continue until the runoff election.

[CHECK: Live election results]

Click/tap here to download the free azfamily mobile app..

© 2018 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Recommended for you