Olivia’s Book Club: Eric Rickstad, ‘I Am Not Who You Think I Am’

Updated: Nov. 16, 2021 at 12:25 PM MST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

(3TV/CBS 5) -- Eric Rickstad is a New York Times and international bestselling author of novels including “What Remains of Her” and “The Silent Girls.” He joined the podcast to talk to Olivia about his latest dark, psychological mystery, “I Am Not Who You Think I Am.” It’s a tale that starts in 1976, with a tragic act of violence witnessed by then 8-year-old Maynard, who is not only shaped by the trauma and loss, but by the mounting pressure of keeping a secret from that day he grows to regret. The core of the story focuses on a teenage Maynard, convinced he has a mystery to solve, while navigating complicated teenage friendships and desires that drive him to hold new, even darker secrets. Rickstad talked about the book’s unique narrative that begins with a letter from the police chief to the community, how his life in Vermont and love of the outdoors influences both what he writes and the way he writes it, and reflects on his early love of books and memories of first joining a book club where he was the only boy.

Margaret and Olivia discuss similar, darkly affecting psychological thrillers involving younger characters. Margaret recommends “The Chalk Man” by C.J. Tudor, and Olivia reflects on Donna Tartt’s “The Secret History.

Connect with Olivia