Sun Devils repaint A after sneak attack by Navy fans

Print
Email
|

by Catherine Holland

Video from News Chopper

Posted on December 28, 2012 at 2:09 PM

Map: A Mountain (Tempe Butte)

View larger map

TEMPE, Ariz. -- Navy Midshipmen fans made a statement about Saturday's Kraft Fight Hunger Bowl by painting the A on A Mountain Navy blue. Aerial video clearly showed their message -- "Go Navy."

ASU's A is often a target when the Sun Devils are gearing up for big games. Hours before the Sun Devils faced off against Oregon, Ducks fans pulled off a similar stealth attack and painted the A green.

When the iconic A comes under attack, ASU students armed with paint and rollers are generally pretty quick to hustle up the mountain and repair the damage.

By 1:30 p.m., several hours after the desecration was discovered, the A was undergoing another -- Sun Devil-approved -- facelift.

The Mids will take on our Arizona State Sun Devils in San Francisco's AT&T Park Saturday afternoon. This is the first time the Mids and the Devils will meet on the gridiron.

The Kraft Fight Hunger Bowl kicks off at 2:07 p.m. Arizona time (1:07 p.m. Pacific and 4:07 p.m. Eastern).

Print
Email
|