Former Cards QB Kurt Warner selected for Pro Football Hall of Fame

Posted: Updated:

Congratulations to a hometown hero!

Former Cardinals quarterback Kurt Warner was among the seven selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2017 at the selection committee’s annual meeting Saturday in Houston.

Warner joins kicker Morten Anderson, running back Terrell Davis, safety Kenny Easley, defensive end Jason Taylor, running back LaDainian Tomlinson and Cowboys owner Jerry Jones in the 2017 Hall of Fame Class.

"This is an extraordinary honor for an extraordinary person," said Cardinals President Michael Bidwill. "Every day and in every possible way, Kurt Warner has demonstrated the excellence for which the Hall of Fame stands and we are thrilled to see him take his rightful place among the game's all-time greats."

Warner spent five seasons (2005-09) in Arizona, starting 57 of 61 games while leading the Cardinals to their first-ever Super Bowl appearance in Super Bowl XLIII following the 2008 season. He led Arizona to back-to-back NFC West titles in 2008-09 while rewriting the franchise record books in the process. During the 2008 season, Warner established Cardinals regular season franchise records for attempts (598), completions (401), completion percentage (67.1) and consecutive games with a TD pass (22). His 30 TD passes and 96.9 passer rating in 2008 represent the second-best single-season totals in franchise history (Carson Palmer, 35 TDs and 104.6 rating in 2015). Warner posted three of the top five highest single-season completion percentage totals in team history and threw for 300+ yards in a franchise-record 22 games.

A two-time NFL MVP and Super Bowl XXXIV MVP, Warner played 12 seasons in the NFL with the Rams (1998-2003), Giants (2004) and Cardinals (2005-2009). He is one of just three QBs in NFL history (Peyton Manning and Craig Morton) to take two different teams to the Super Bowl. One of the greatest postseason performers in NFL history, Warner owns the top three passing totals in Super Bowl history.

This marks the second time in four years that a Cardinals player was selected to the Hall of Fame. CB Aeneas Williams was among the six members of the 2014 Hall of Fame class. Warner becomes the 13th member of the Cardinals organization elected to the Hall of Fame. The others are Charles W. Bidwill, Sr. (Owner, Class of 1967), Jimmy Conzelman (Coach, Class of 1964), T Dan Dierdorf (Class of 1996), HB John “Paddy” Driscoll (Class of 1965), CB Dick “Night Train” Lane (Class of 1974), HB Ollie Matson (Class of 1972), HB Ernie Nevers (Class of 1963), TE Jackie Smith (Class of 1994), HB Charley Trippi (Class of 1968), CB Roger Wehrli (Class of 2007), CB Aeneas Williams (Class of 2014) and S Larry Wilson (Class of 1978).

The Hall of Fame Class of 2017 will be inducted on Saturday, August 5 at the Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony in Canton, OH.

For more information on Warner’s career, please click on the link below:

Copyright 2017 KPHO/KTVK (KPHO Broadcasting Corporation). All rights reserved.

  • Social Connect

  • Contact

    AZ Family