Forese, Little join Arizona Corporation Commission

Posted: Updated:
Tom Forese (left) and Doug Little By Jennifer Thomas Tom Forese (left) and Doug Little By Jennifer Thomas

PHOENIX (AP) -- Two new Corporation Commission members have taken office, and the commission has a new chairman.

Retired U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor on Monday administered the oath of office to new Commissioners Doug Little and Tom Forese. They are Republicans who defeated Democrats Sandra Kennedy and Jim Holway in the Nov. 4 general election.

Forese is a two-term state legislator representing the Gilbert and Chandler area while Little is a political newcomer with a background in computer software.

In another development, the commission voted to name Commissioner Susan Bitter Smith to serve as chairman for two years. She succeeds Bob Stump.

The five-member commission sets rates for regulated utilities, registers corporations and is responsible for ensuring safety of railroads and pipelines.