Presidents of ASU, UofA get $40,000 in bonus pay

Posted: Updated:

FLAGSTAFF, Ariz. (AP) -- Arizona State University president Michael Crow and University of Arizona president Ann Weaver Hart each have received $40,000 bonuses for their job performance this past year.

Members of the Arizona Board of Regents also voted unanimously at their meeting Friday in Flagstaff to give retiring Northern Arizona University President John Haeger a $30,000 incentive award.

To hit the performance goals, the presidents need to increase student retention, graduations and research funding.

They also must develop and implement initiatives such as a strategic plan for improving the state's health care.

Crow has been at ASU since 2002 while Hart was hired by the UofA two years ago.

Rita Cheng started work as Northern Arizona University's new president on Aug. 15.

© 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.