ASU's Kelly, Strong, Foster named to award watch lists

Posted: Updated:
By Ronald Martinez By Ronald Martinez

TEMPE, Ariz. -- July may be a quiet time on the field across college football, but players are racking up honors, including a trio of Sun Devils.

The Maxwell Award, given annually to college football's player of the year, including Arizona State quarterback Taylor Kelly, wide receiver Jaelen Strong, and running back D.J. Foster. The three selections among the 76 listed represent the second-most of any team nationally, and is tied for the most among Pac-12 schools. 

Foster was also listed on the Hornung Award watch list, given to college football's most outstanding versatile player.

Kelly enters his senior season with a host of impressive numbers on his resume, and a chance to go down as one of the best ASU quarterbacks in history. He threw for 3,635 yards and 28 touchdowns while running for 852 gross yards (608 after sack yardage factored in) with another nine touchdowns last season. His 4,243 yards of total offense set an ASU single-season record.

His top target in 2013 was Strong, who in his first season as a Sun Devil hauled in 75 passes for 1,122 yards and seven touchdowns. That earned the junior college transfer second-team All-Pac-12 honors.

Foster will now assume the lead running back job after splitting his first two seasons at running back and wide receiver. For his career, he has carried 195 times for 994 yards and eight touchdowns while catching 101 passes for 1,168 yards and eight scores. 

The rest of the major award watch lists will be doled out in the coming weeks, while real, actual college football is growing closer every day. ASU kick's off the 2014 season on Aug. 28 when they host Weber State.

Mon., July 7: Bednarik Award/Maxwell Award

Tue., July 8: Mackey Award/Rimington Trophy

Wed., July 9: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award

Thurs., July 10: Bronko Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy

Fri., July 11: Jim Thorpe Award

Mon., July 14: Butkus Award/Rotary Lombardi Award

Tue., July 15: Biletnikoff Award

Wed., July 16: Davey O’Brien Award

Thurs., July 17: Doak Walker Award

Fri., July 18: Walter Camp Award