Current Sun Devils defeat former players in final Alumni Game at Packard

Posted: Updated:

TEMPE, Ariz. -- Arizona State baseball defeated a team of former Sun Devils by a score of 11-5 in 

Saturday’s annual Alumni Game, the last one at Packard Stadium.
Before the game, the players and crowd welcomed back 2011 College Baseball Hall of Fame inductee Oddibe McDowell. The outfielder won the Golden Spikes Award as the country’s top amateur baseball player in 1984. McDowell played seven seasons of pro baseball, five of which were with the Texas Rangers. 
RHP Trevor Williams got the start for the alumni team. In 16 starts last season, Williams went 6-6 with a 4.12 earned run average. LHP Ryan Kellogg pitched the first four innings for the current team, and then threw more in the bullpen in advance of his upcoming weekend start. 
Fans in attendance saw two current Sun Devils face family members on the mound. 
In the top of the first, Williams handed the ball off to RHP Dave Graybill, father of first baseman David Graybill. Dave plunked David on a 0-2 pitch. In the top of the sixth, former IF Raoul Torrez pitched to brother Emilio, walking him on four pitches.
In the top of the third, Graybill homered to left, making the score 3-2 in favor of the 2014 team.
All-Pac-10 catcher Petey Paramore threw out leadoff hitter and CF Johnny Sewald in the third inning as Sewald attempted to steal second.
In the bottom of the fifth, former team captain OF/1B Rocky Laguna took an Eric Melbostad pitch over the wall in right field, tying the score at five. 
The alumni took a 6-5 lead after six innings, but David Greer changed that in the top of the seventh with a bases-clearing triple. Greer sparked a five-run inning for the current Devils, and they never looked back on their way to the victory.
RHP Hever Bueno closed out the game for the Sun Devils.
Among the other alumni in attendance were Riccio Torrez, Kole Calhoun, Jake Borup, Joey DeMichele, Michael Benjamin, Kasey Coffman, Alex Blackford and Max Rossiter.
The Sun Devils begin the season this Friday, Feb. 14 against Baylor at Packard Stadium. First pitch is scheduled for 2:30 pm MST.