Arizona State to add 4 to Ring of Honor

Posted: Updated:
By Catherine Holland By Catherine Holland

TEMPE, Ariz. (AP) -- Pro Football Hall of Famer John Henry Johnson, Curley Culp, Woody Green and Charley Taylor will be inducted into the Arizona State University Ring of Honor next month.

The four former football stars will join the inaugural class of Byron "Whizzer" White, Mike Haynes, John Jefferson, Frank Kush, Randall McDaniel, Bobby Mulgado, Pat Tillman, Danny White and Ron Pritchard.

Culp, Green and Taylor will be present for the Ring of Honor ceremonies during the weekend of the Nov. 19 home game against Arizona. The late Johnson will be represented by daughter Kathy Johnson Moppin.

Johnson, who died in June, played for the Sun Devils in 1952 before launching his pro career.

Culp was an All-America nose tackle who starred for the Sun Devils in 1965-67; Green, the school's career rushing leader, was selected to the All-Western Athletic Conference team all three of his varsity seasons in 1971-73; and Taylor was twice an All-WAC running back in his career from 1961-63.