Members of 2001 Diamondbacks World Series team gather for reunion

Posted: Updated:
By Catherine Holland By Catherine Holland
By Catherine Holland By Catherine Holland
By Catherine Holland By Catherine Holland
By Catherine Holland By Catherine Holland
By Catherine Holland By Catherine Holland

PHOENIX -- It was the bloop single heard 'round the world. It won the Arizona Diamondbacks their first World Series title and made them the youngest franchise in MLB history to win a championship. Taking the field for the first time in 1998, they were just in their fourth year when they took home the Commissioner's Trophy.

Fast forward 10 years, and Phoenix is still celebrating that huge World Series win over the New York Yankees.

In fact, 32 players from that World Series team are coming together for a special reunion at Chase Field.

The celebration begins on Sept. 9 with the return of purple and teal pinstripes. Rather than their current Sonoran red, the 2001 team will wear the same jerseys the World Series team wore during Game 7 of the 2001 World Series. It's the perfect time for fans to break out their retro fan gear. There will also be a post-game fireworks show featuring the at-bat walk-up music from members of the 2001 team.

On Saturday, Sept. 10, the first 25,000 fans will receive a World Championship replica ring. Before the game, members of the 2001 World Championship team will be introduced in an on-field reunion ceremony. Gates open at 2:30 p.m.; that ceremony will start at 430 p.m.

The reunion weekend concludes on Sunday, Sept. 11, with a 9/11 Salute to Our Everyday Heroes. the first 15,000fans through the gates will receive a patriotic Diamondbacks T-shirt.

On Wednesday, Luis Gonzalez and Junior Spivey stopped to chat with Scott Pasmore and Tara Hitchcock about that amazing 2001 season, and they brought the Commissioner's Trophy with them.

Below is a list of players, coaches and executives who are expected to appear at the Saturday event.

Jerry Colangelo
Rich Dozer
Joe Garagiola, Jr.
Bob Brenly
Glen Sherlock
Bob Welch
Brian Anderson
Danny Bautista
Jay Bell
Troy Brohawn
Greg Colbrunn
Jason Conti
Midre Cummings
David Dellucci
Erubiel Durazo
Robert Ellis
Steve Finley
Luis Gonzalez
Mark Grace
Ken Huckaby
Randy Johnson
Mike Koplove
Albie Lopez
Matt Mantei
Damian Miller
Chad Moeller
Mike Mohler
Lyle Overbay
Bret Prinz
Armando Reynoso
Erik Sabel
Reggie Sanders
Curt Schilling
Junior Spivey
Greg Swindell
Matt Williams
Bobby Witt
Tony Womack