Arizona State at softball World Series

Posted: Updated:

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- Arizona State coach Clint Myers isn't used to the powerful Pac-10 being so outnumbered at the Women's College World Series.

Myers' top-seeded Sun Devils were one of only two Pac-10 schools that made it to college softball's championship event in Oklahoma City, the fewest since 1998. The Big 12 makes up half of the field
with four schools qualifying, and the Southeastern Conference has the other two with second-seeded Alabama and Florida.

For the first time since 1986, neither Arizona nor defending champion UCLA are in the field. Those two programs have combined to win all but eight titles in the first 28 years of the WCWS.

All that tradition is replaced by local flavor starting on Thursday.

Oklahoma and Oklahoma State among the final eight in the same year for the first time.