Vote 2008 Results: Arizona Congressional Races

Posted: Updated:

PHOENIX - AP declared the following winners:

Ann Kirkpatrick (DEM) elected to U.S. House District 1

Democrat Ann Kirkpatrick beat Republican Sydney Hay for the seat being vacated by three-term incumbent Republican Rick Renzi.

Renzi announced last year that he wouldn't seek a fourth term.

He has since been indicted on charges that he engineered a swap of federally owned mining land to benefit himself and a former business partner. Renzi has pleaded not guilty.

Trent Franks (GOP) elected to U.S. House District 2

Republican Rep. Trent Franks has defeated Democrat John Thrasher of Phoenix in the 2nd Congressional District ace.

The district runs from Phoenix's western suburbs through the far northwestern portion of the state and includes the Hopi Indian Reservation.

It has traditionally been a GOP stronghold, with some 60,000 more registered Republican voters.

John Shadegg (GOP) elected to U.S. House District 3

Incumbent Rep. John Shadegg has beaten Democratic challenger Bob Lord in the 3rd Congressional District race.

The race was fueled by an anti-Republican momentum felt nationwide and a strong, well-financed campaign from Lord.

Shadegg called it the most substantial campaign ever run against him for re-election.

Ed Pastor (DEM) elected to U.S. House District 4

Rep. Ed Pastor clinched a 10th term in Congress by beating Republican challenger Don Karg of Phoenix in the 4th Congressional District

Registered Democrats outnumber Republicans by some 59,000 in the district, which includes central Phoenix and some close-in suburbs.

Harry Mitchell (DEM) elected to U.S. House District 5

Freshman Democratic Congressman Harry Mitchell beat Republican chalenger David Schweikert in the 5th Congressional District race.

Mitchell victory's is the second straight defeat for the GOP in what had been considered a strong Republican district.

Jeff Flake (GOP) elected to U.S. House District 6

Republican Rep. Jeff Flake of Mesa claimed a fifth term by defeating Democrat Rebecca Schneider of Mesa in the 6th Congressional District race.

Registered Republicans outnumber Democrats by about 89,000 in the district, which includes Mesa and Chandler.

Raul Grijalva (DEM) elected to U.S. House District 7

Democratic Rep. Raul Grijalva of Tucson iced a fourth term over his challenger, 12-time congressional candidate Joseph Sweeney of Tucson, in the 7th Congressional District race.

Democrats dominate among voters in the 7th District, which includes portions of Tucson and Pima County, much of Santa Cruz County and the entire far southwestern corner of the state.

Gabrielle Giffords (DEM) elected to U.S. House District 8

First-term Democratic Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords beat Republican state Senate President Tim Bee in the 8th Congressional District race.

Two years ago, voters in the southeastern Arizona district chose Giffords over a conservative Republican.