Robin Roberts to receive ASU's 2014 Cronkite Award

Posted: Updated:
Robin Roberts of ABC will receive the 2014 Cronkite Award. Robin Roberts of ABC will receive the 2014 Cronkite Award.

The award-winning anchor of ABC's "Good Morning America" has been named the 2014 recipient of the Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism, Arizona State University announced Wednesday.

Robin Roberts will accept the 31st annual award at a luncheon ceremony Oct. 6 at the Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel.

"I'm honored to be selected and look forward to spending time with the students at Arizona State University," Robins said. 

Roberts was named co-anchor of "Good Morning America" in 2005, leading the broadcast to the top of the morning show ratings and three consecutive Emmy Awards for Outstanding Morning Program.

With more than 20 years of broadcasting experience, she has conducted interviews with newsmakers that include President Barack Obama, Academy Award-winning actor Sidney Poitier and basketball legend Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.

"Robin Roberts' outstanding contributions to our profession, and the great personal courage she has demonstrated, make her the perfect recipient for this year's Cronkite Award," said Cronkite School Dean Christopher Callahan.

Roberts recently faced public battles with a rare bone marrow disorder called myelodysplastic syndrome in 2012 and breast cancer in 2007. For her courageous spirit, she has been recognized with awards and honors, including the Susan G. Komen Foundation, the Congressional Families Cancer Prevention Program, ESPN's Arthur Ashe Courage Award at the ESPYS and the prestigious Peabody Award for "Robin's Journey" in 2013.

A native of the Mississippi Gulf Coast, Roberts graduated with a communications degree from Southeastern Louisiana University in 1983. She was a standout performer on the women's basketball team, ending her career as the school's all-time leading scorer and rebounder.

Other Cronkite Award recipients include TV anchors Diane Sawyer, Brian Williams and Tom Brokaw; newspaper journalists Ben Bradlee, Helen Thomas and Bob Woodward; and media executives Katharine Graham, Al Neuharth and Bill Paley. Cronkite personally presented the award during its first quarter-century. The CBS News anchor died in 2009.

The Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication was named in Cronkite's honor in 1984.

Copyright 2014 CBS 5 (KPHO Broadcasting Corporation). All rights reserved.