Limbhasut edges field at Winn Grips Heather Farr Classic

Posted: Updated:
© cbs 5 © cbs 5

KK Limbhasut of Loma Linda, Calif., birdied No. 18 to capture the title at the Winn Grips Heather Farr Classic hosted by Longbow Golf Club with an 8-under-par 205. Stephanie Lau of Fullerton, Calif., carded a 7-under-par 206 to win the Girls Division by one stroke.

Conducted by the American Junior Golf Association, the Winn Grips Heather Farr Classic hosted by Longbow Golf Club was a 54-hole stroke play competition played on the par-71 course at Longbow Golf Club. The event featured 90 boys and 42 girls, from 14 different states, and two countries. The Boys Division played the course at 7,007 yards while the Girls Division played the course at 6,114 yards.

Limbhasut started the day tied for the lead with Gordon Neale of Dove Canyon, Calif. Heading into No. 18, the pair found themselves even on the scoreboard. A great second shot put Limbhasut on the green where he went on to make birdie to seal the victory by one stroke.

"I try to focus on my routine in tight rounds," Limbhasut said, who will begin his collegiate career at UC Berkeley in the fall. "The intensity of AJGA events like this really has prepared me for the collegiate level."

Neale finished second at 7-under-par 206. Daniel Wetterich of Cincinnati, carded a 6-under-par 207 for third place. Jacob Solomon of Dublin, Calif., and Joshua Sedeno of Roseville, Calif., tied for fourth at 4-under-par 209.

In the Girls Division, Lau found herself out of the lead after making bogey on No. 14. That would be the first and last time she would trail in the tournament. Lau was able to eagle the 494-yard, par-5 No. 15 to take the lead for good.

"This tournament taught me a lot," Lau said. "I've never been in the lead all three days. Learning to stay calm through everything will be a major help going into future events."  

Hannah O'Sullivan of Paradise Valley, Ariz., finished second at 6-under-par 207. Angel Yin of Arcadia, Calif., came in third at 2-under-par 211.

About the AJGA

The American Junior Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf. The AJGA provides valuable exposure for college golf scholarships, and has an annual junior membership (boys and girls ages 12-18) of approximately 6,000 junior golfers from 49 states and more than 50 countries. To ensure scholarship opportunities for all junior golfers who have the skill, the AJGA created the Achieving Competitive Excellence (ACE) Grant program to provide financial assistance to young players in need.

Titleist, the AJGA's National Sponsor, has been the catalyst and driving force behind the Association's success since 1989. Rolex, which is in its third decade of AJGA support, became the inaugural AJGA Premier Partner in 2004. In 2007, after 12 years of support, Ralph Lauren became the AJGA's second Premier Partner.

AJGA alumni have risen to the top of amateur, collegiate and professional golf. Former AJGA juniors have compiled more than 500 victories on the PGA and LPGA Tours. AJGA alumni include Brandt Snedeker, Bubba Watson, Webb Simpson, Hunter Mahan, Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods, Stacy Lewis, Vicky Hurst, Paula Creamer, Cristie Kerr, Britney Lincicome, Morgan Pressel and Heather Farr.

Copyright 2014 CBS 5 (KPHO Broadcasting Corporation). All rights reserved.