2013 Nurse of the Year Awards Gala honors nominees

Posted: Updated:

March of Dimes Arizona Chapter honored this years winners at the 10th Annual Nurse of the Year Awards Gala.

This year's theme, Celebrate the Caring Spirit, paid tribute to nurses throughout Arizona who continue to deliver the highest standard of care to their patients.

Master and mistress of ceremonies, KPHO CBS 5's Sean McLaughlin and Nicole Crites, took guests and honorees back through time to revisit major milestones in March of Dimes history.

In 2013, March of Dimes celebrates its 75th anniversary. Last year, more than 85,000 babies were born, and March of Dimes has assisted babies through 75 years of research, vaccines, advocacy and medical breakthroughs.

The 2013 Gala chairperson was Sharon Glanville, executive director of women's and children's services at St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center.

The finalists for the 2013  awards are as follows:

Advancing The Profession Through Evidence-Based Practice

Jill Arzouman - University of Arizona Medical Center

Ann Hill - Arizona Children's Center and Maricopa Medical Center

Elizabeth Reifsnider- Arizona State University College of Nursing and Health Innovation

Laurie Smith - Cardon Children's Medical Center


Advocacy For Patients

Marian Budnik - United States Air Force

Becky Chase - John C. Lincoln, Deer Valley Hospital

Nancy Foreman - Flagstaff Medical Center


Chamberlain College of Nursing - Clinical Educator

Tamra Cullumber - University of Arizona Medical Center

Sharon Moritz- Chamberlain College of Nursing

Beverly Rusing - Tucson Medical Center


District Medical Group - Children's Rehabilitative Services - Prenatal/Pediatric

Adriana Brown - St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center

Kimberly Reiners - Cardon Children's Medical Center

Laurie Smith - St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center

Tracy Stephens - Maricopa Integrated Health System



Carolyn Posey - United States Air Force

Lt. Col. Tiffiny Strever - Maricopa Integrated Health System

Lt. Col. Deedra Zabokrtsky - United States Air Force



Tish Arwine - Verde Valley Medical Center

Elizabeth Hale - Flagstaff Medical Center

Michelle Hoyt -Department of Defense, Luke Air Force Base



Donna Beifus - University of Arizona Medical Center

Virginia Goldner - Tucson Medical Center

Gail Hock - The Arizona Partnership For Immunization



Carol Andrews - Luke Air Force Base

Patricia Suida - University of Arizona Health Network

Kathy Walker - Cardon Children's Medical Center


Patient Care - Clinical Nursing Role

Sommer Mattingly - Banner Good Samaritan Medical Center

Kimberly Radig - St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center

Judith Schwindt - Mayo Clinic


Rising Star

Tess Fareri - Phoenix Children's Hospital

Stephanie Miner - Tucson Medical Center

Abby Sprenger - University of Arizona Medical Center


Rural Nurse

Lynn Harris - Northern Arizona Healthcare

Sean Murray - Yavapai County Community Health Center


St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center - Patient Care - Advanced Practice Role

Robert Bennett - Arizona Burn Center, Maricopa Medical Center

Deborah Kohm - Banner Good Samaritan Medical Center

Rosa St. Angelo - Maricopa Medical Center

Lt. Col. Linda Hagemann - Davis Monthan Air Force Base


Distinguished Nurse

Lisa Cross - Mercy Care Plan

Mary King - St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center

Elizabeth Maish - Tucson Medical Center

Claudia Schwisow - Verde Valley Medical Center


Copyright2013 CBS 5 (KPHO Broadcasting Corporation). All rights reserved.