Sun Devils near the top In Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete Of The Year each and every season

Posted: Updated:
© cbs 5 © cbs 5

Six years ago, the Pac-12 started the Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award to honor its top senior student-athletes in each of its 22 sponsored sports. With all the results in for 2012-13, an updated tally has the Sun Devils taking home top honors 24 times in those six years, the second-most in the Pac-12, behind only Stanford (39).

This past year, five Sun Devil student-athletes took home the honor, which matches Stanford for tops in the league. ASU also set the pace back in 2008-09. Sun Devils to receive the honor this year include women's tennis standout Jacqueline Cako, men's basketball player Carrick Felix and wrestler Jake Meredith. Nick Happe took home the honor in two sports, earning the nod for both cross country and track and field.

Copyright 2013 CBS 5 (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.