President Obama signs disaster declaration for CT

Posted: Updated:

President Obama today signed a disaster relief bill which will provide federal dollars to help Connecticut recover from a severe snow storm in February.

Federal dollars will be available to the state and municipalities as well as certain nonprofit groups on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities that were damaged.

The money will be available to all counties in the state and the Mashantucket Pequot and Mohegan Tribal Nations.

In addition, Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for snow assistance for a continuous 48-hour period during or proximate to the incident period in Fairfield, Litchfield, Middlesex, New London, Tolland, and Windham Counties and the Mashantucket Pequot and Mohegan Tribal Nations located within New London County.  

This assistance will be provided for a 72-hour period in Hartford and New Haven Counties.

Copyright 2013 WFSB (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.