Sinema wins new 9th District, GOP race tight

Posted: Updated:
Kyrsten Sinema Kyrsten Sinema

Former state Sen. Kyrsten Sinema has won the Democratic primary in Arizona's new 9th Congressional District, while Republican Vernon Parker leads a field of seven Republicans seeking their party's nomination.

Sinema came out ahead of two other high-powered Democratic to advance to the November general election. Current Arizona Senate minority leader David Shapira came in second and former state party chair Andrei Cherny was third.

Parker led the field of GOP hopefuls by 807 votes out of about late 38,000 Republicans votes tallied. But several thousand votes were outstanding.

Parker is a former Paradise Valley mayor.

The 9th district takes in much of Tempe and parts of Phoenix, Scottsdale, Paradise Valley, Mesa and Chandler.

Copyright 2012 Associated Press. All rights reserved.