Photos: Tennis pro fined $12K and faces assault inquiry

Photos: Tennis pro fined $12K and faces assault inquiry

Credit: Getty Images

LONDON, ENGLAND - JUNE 17: David Nalbandian of Argentina in action during his mens singles final round match against Marin Cilic of Croatia on day seven of the AEGON Championships at Queens Club on June 17, 2012 in London, England. (Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images)

Print
Email
|

Getty Images

Posted on June 18, 2012 at 12:43 PM

Updated Saturday, Nov 2 at 2:11 AM

LONDON (AP) -- Tennis player David Nalbandian has been fined the maximum $12,560 and faces a police investigation into an assault complaint after kicking an advertising board and injuring a line judge during the Queen's Club final.

The ATP confirmed the fine for unsportsmanlike conduct on Monday. Nalbandian also was stripped of his $57,350 in prize money.

London police, meanwhile, said they were investigating a complaint of assault filed against Nalbandian, who was defaulted from Sunday's match against Marin Cilic in the grass-court Wimbledon warmup event.

Police declined to say who made the complaint. Any member of the public who witnessed the event in person or on television could have made a complaint, as could the line judge himself.

"We are aware of an incident at the Aegon Championships," the Metropolitan Police said in a statement. "A complaint has been made and the Metropolitan Police Service is now investigating. The allegation is of assault."

Nalbandian won the first set 7-6 (3) but lost his temper after losing serve to fall behind 3-4 in the second. After missing a running forehand on game point, he kicked the board under the chair of line judge Andrew McDougall. A piece of the board cut the judge on the left shin, leaving him bloodied from an inch-long gash.

Tournament director Chris Kermode said McDougall received first aid but needed no further treatment after seeing a doctor.

Nalbandian was disqualified for unsportsmanlike conduct. ATP rules state that any violent action will result in an automatic default. Nalbandian, who is still scheduled to play at Wimbledon when it starts on Monday, insisted he shouldn't have been disqualified.

"Sometimes you get very frustrated on court and it's tough to control that, and sometimes I do a mistake. So it's very tough to end a final like that," he said. "I agree I do a mistake but sometimes everybody do a mistake and I didn't feel it had to end like that, especially in a final."

Print
Email
|